November 27, 2012

  • Tea and Trouble Brewing

    I love tea.  In fact, our entire family loves it.  We have tea for breakfast almost every day.  

    I enjoy different flavors but I must admit that my favorite is Lipton’s black tea.  I love to brew a cup, sit down, relax, sip it slowly, and enjoy it. I found these really cute teacups/pots to make the experience more enjoyable but alas, the little pots only hold one cup of tea.  

    Although I love drinking tea, it seems that more often I end up pouring a cup and end up gulping it down in a hurry, due to my busy schedule.  It seems I rarely have the opportunity of just taking my good ol’ time to sip and relax.

    I started out reading this book I slowly sipped each story in a relaxed fashion.  But, then, I suddenly found that I needed to start gulping to finish up with the book by the time my turn for the weblog arrived.  

     

    I met Dorcas several years ago when she came into my fabric store with her sister-in-law, Anna, who lives down the road from us.  Anna introduced us and we chatted a bit while they shopped.  I never gave it any more thought.  Then five years ago, I went to Borderland Ladies’ Retreat in International Falls, MN where Dorcas was the guest speaker.  I told my sister, (PC in VA) about meeting Dorcas.  

    Pam’s response was: “You know who she is, don’t you?”  

    Well,  ”Nooooo, I guess not.”  

    “She is Amos Yoder’s Dorcas.”

    “WHAAAAAAAATTTTT????   Really???!!!!!”

    What a surprise.  I knew and played with Dorcas when we were little girls!  Talk about a very small world.   

    My mind went back to the time our family went to visit the Yoder family when families lived near Somerset, Ohio.  We played hide and seek outside in their yard until it got dark.  I remember thinking that Fred was an odd name and it was the first time I remember hearing the name Marcus.  

    Another time I remember their family coming to visit our family.  Of course, horses and buggies were fascinating, especially when the horse just couldn’t make it up the hill.  I still can “see” the children getting out of the buggy and pushing it on up the hill.  Recently, I mentioned that to Dorcas and her response was “Ah, Fern…”  She remembered that event too but hadn’t remember who they had gone to visit.  

    So our connection goes way back into the mid 60′s.  Both our families left that part of Ohio and lost track of each other over time.  It was nice to reconnect after so many years.

     

    I have copies of Dorcas’ first 2 books and loved them.  (Somehow I missed getting the third one.)  So when the opportunity came up to do this blog for her, I jumped at the chance.  Believe me, I wasn’t disappointed.  This book is written true to form and I enjoyed it immensely.  Dorcas is such a candid writer and tells it how it really is.  I find that honesty so refreshing and on the most part humorous.  I can often identify with what she’s trying to say.

    I am not going to try to give you a run down on all this book has in it, some of the other bloggers did do some of that.  With a 10 year-old son of my own, who seems to think he’s a rocket scientist, the story about Boys and Explosions was perfect.  I was thinking that Jonny was maybe a little too obsessed with things that went pow, bang and ka-boom, I was relieved that at least he didn’t try some of the stunts the Smucker boys did!  Yet, (cross my fingers) yet.  

    Then the article on Joining Facebook brought back some of my own recollections.  The list could go on……I am quitting here….I want to leave something to the imagination and I know that you will enjoy this book.

    Now for the punchline or whatever.  Dorcas has sent me three (3) signed copies of this book.  One for myself, one for me to give to anyone I chose and the third for someone who visits my blog and leaves a message.   I will randomly draw a name from the list of messages on Monday and mail that lucky person the last copy.  

    Remember, you will have to make sure I will be able to get a hold of you if your name is drawn.  (Any comments on Facebook counts too.)

    You can purchase Tea and Trouble Brewing on Amazon or directly from Dorcas by sending $15.00 to:
     
    Dorcas Smucker
    31148 Substation Drive

    Harrisburg, OR 97446

     
    She is also offering a great deal right now of all four books for only $40.00  postage paid.
    They would make an excellent Christmas gift or a wonderful addition to your own bookshelf.  
    Have a wonderful day.
     
    By the way, look what I found at Connections (second hand store) today?  They had about 5 sets but I couldn’t afford them all.  
    I think I shall start collecting mini tea sets too. 
     

Comments (28)

  • I’d love to win this book! I enjoy reading her blog and recently got her first two books. Rosalyn

  • Kim what a delightful blog about Dorcas.  I loved hearing your connections with her.  Yes it is a small world.
    This is the first I knew that you use to have a fabric store.  No wonder you turn out so many pretty quilts.   You can put my name into your drawing for the book.   I ordered from Amazon only to be told they were out of stock.  You take care and thanks for the blog tour stop.   ~Polly~

  • That’s a really neat tribute to your friend! Sometimes we discover connections that we never would have thought about years later. 

  • I hope to win your random draw! Her books are so great and I have the new one on my wish-list. :)

    I guess I didn’t know you were a tea and tea-pot fan too. Nice Connections find.

  • PS – I’m not that skinny. I cheated on my profile picture!

  • Sounds very interesting

  • I enjoy Dorcas’ blog and her books. I’ve been enjoying all the great reviews on this blog tour. Can’t wait to read this book, whether I win a copy or buy one.
    Naomi

  • It was fun to hear your connection to Dorcas! I have read her other books and would love to have a copy of this one!

  • I’d love to read her book, though your comments are my first introduction. I’ll have to put them on my wish list!

  • I love Dorcas’s writing style. She’s so honest and always makes me laugh. I would love to win this book!

    health_4you@yahoo.com

  • I don’t blame you Kim for wanting to collect the tea sets.  those you posted are beautiful.  I don’t remember Dorcus although I do remember her parents.  I would be thrilled to be the winner.  How are you going to pick?  Write every ones name down on paper or is  there an easier way.  Keep my fingers crossed.   Gwen

  • I would love to win this book. My children all know if Mom is laughing by the computer, she is probably reading a post from Dorcas Smucker. (They just don’t hear when she makes me tear up.) You have a very pretty page, by the way :) .

  • I read Dorcas’ blog regularly. I enjoy her writing and  would be very happy to win this book!

    ~Susanna Yoder

  • Hoping to read her new book soon. Interesting how you met Dorcas again years later. -Donella

  • This is a great review. I’m sure looking forward to reading her book too. … And I love teapots too and have a small collections. I like to give each of our grandgirls a mini one when they are born. Of course, that’s only been three so far!

  • Thanks for giving me a chance to win Dorcas’ book.  She was in my area a few years back.  I had a chance to hear her speak and have enjoyed reading her books.

    Marilyn

  • Your tea sets are charming. Very feminine, which is why I (as the mother of four sons who also love explosives) have to grin. Polar opposite of bottle rockets and flame throwers for sure, and just what Mothers of Boys need. :)

    Don’t enter me in the drawing. I had the pleasure of hosting Dorcas, too. Just wanted to say “hi” and “I identify.”
    Rhonda Schrock

  • I, too, really enjoy Dorcas’s down to earth writing style. Since I don’t win stuff anyway, I rarely enter give aways, but this is certainly worth a shot! 

  • I’d love to win Dorcas books too. Your tea sets are the last word in elegance. I also love books, tea and blogs!

  • Boy, did you get popular all of a sudden!!  :)

    I guess if I’d opened an account on Xanga and signed up for the tour blog, I’d be as lucky as you, but I wasn’t that smart! 

    Remember how Mom always gave us toast and tea when we were “down sick”?

    I still love black tea. I guess we’ll always have a soft spot for Lipton’s.

    LOVE your tea sets!    -PC in VA

  • @glennbunch - Pam, yes, I remember.  I’ve tried a lot of teas but it seems I always come back to Lipton.    I love fresh mint (garden or creek) for ice tea in the summertime.  Nothing beats that except maybe ice cold Lipton’s.  )))))

  • I enjoyed your review.  Hot Tea  is good, but coffee is my go- to morning drink.  And here in the South, my husband likes to joke that sweet tea comes out of the faucet.  Anyway, I’d love to win your giveaway!  Thanks for the chance!

  • I have read Dorcas’s three other books, and enjoyed them. I’m sure I would enjoy this one also. (By the way, would any of those tea sets still be at that store? How much were they, and what colors? My girls would love me (more) if I got a tea set like that.)Gina

  • I will have to see Gina.  

  • Would love to read one of her books!

  • I’d like a chance at the drawing. Ha! Phil’s even hooked. He subscribed to her blog posts, so he often tells me about updates before I even get a chance to get there. :)

    Pretty tea sets!

    XOXO ~KJ

  • @kendrajoychupp85 - I’ll be sure to put your name in the hat.  KJ.  Love ya, Aunt Kim

  • I enjoyed your review. I have read it a couple times and I couldn’t comment before.
    I haven’t read any of Dorcas ‘ books, but enjoy her blog and articles….
    I have always been a southern sweet tea fan…but have been learning to enjoy hot tea lately. Todd loves Lipton, first thing he asks for when he is sick…..anyway I would love to win :) Thanks for the chance. Kim

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *