November 7, 2012

  • Love and Trust

    The day started out perfectly.  Since I am not a "morning" person, I was enjoying the luxury of spending a few extra minutes in our cozy bed, while trying to wake up.   I usually use this time in meditation and prayer as I acclimate myself to the idea of getting up.  Overhead, I could hear my dear hubby, walking around in the kitchen getting breakfast.  He had thoughtfully turned the heater on to warm our room before he left.  Then the door of our bedroom slowly creaked open, my little girl came in and crawled in with me for a good morning cuddle.

    "I love you Mommy."  she said as she wrapped her little arms around me in a bear hug.  Ah, life is really sweet.

    Then....."Mommy, how did I learn to love you?"  I smiled.  Interesting question.  "Well, it all began when you were still in my tummy, I think."  I went on to tell her how she must've felt protected and safe and then when she was born how she must've felt.  "Then Daddy took you and wrapped you in a nice warm towel,  got you dressed and tucked you into our bed right here."  

    She loves to hear the story of her birth and how on that cold winter night her daddy took care of her and tucked her into our bed.   The story went on and as I told it,  she pipes up with, "I love my daddy, too." 

    Love is the product of trust.  If Kaity didn't trust us, her love  for us would not have grown. 

    Of course that set my mind to thinking into other channels:

    I reflected about an incident that happened to me when I was about 9 years old.  My sister and I went with our parents and to our Aunt's house.   She and her husband had moved there earlier and this was the first time any of us had been to this particular house.  She was giving us a tour of her house, a split level, and we were down in the basement when her husband came home from work.  Well, this was one man that I didn't like.  I had never liked him and frankly I was scared of him.  Somehow, when everyone went back upstairs, I found myself separated from Auntie and my family with this man between us!  There was no way I could bring myself to walk past him to rejoin them.  I panicked and I tore out the opposite way.....the basement door stood open.  In my terror and zeal to flee  I didn't see the fence that was just outside the door until I slammed into it running at top speed.  This stopped me in my tracks but only for a moment until I gathered myself together and took off again around the side of the house to the safety of our car.  I am sure my aunt wondered what possessed me when she later was doctoring the huge goose egg on my forehead with an ice pack.

    Recently, I told her I had never liked him  She wondered why.   I told her the truth....I never trusted him because he had taken liberties with where he touched us.  Her response was "Why didn't you tell on him?"  I really don't know why I hadn't thought of doing that but that was back in the '60's, and I was just a little girl.   Maybe it never occurred to me that I should've told but there definitely was a relationship between the lack of trust and the lack of love.  I remember when I heard that my Aunt had divorced him a few years after that head bopping, I was so relieved.

    Isn't wonderful to be able to trust someone?  I love Vernon because I trust him.

    I told someone once that I was so glad that I could trust my husband, that I was so thankful that I can totally trust him with my daughters, when he is away, when other women talk to him, etc.  Not that I think he is infallible or above temptation but he has proven trustworthy (and is serious about his relationship with Christ.) She indicated that she hadn't learn to trust her husband.  Another woman told me that she never left her little girl at home with her husband, because she didn't trust him.  That must have been terrible not to mention inconvenient.  How sad. 

    Then I thought about loving Christ.  My love for Him is a result of my trust in Him.  The more that I learn to trust Him the more I love Him. 

    We Love Him Because He First Loved Us. 

     

     

Comments (4)

  • Beautiful, Kim!  I too have been blessed with both a dad and a husband that I could completely trust and love.  I am RICH because of them.

  • Such safety there is to be able to trust...the number one question I hear a lot is why didn't ( the child) say something...there a a.number of.reasons, I think..such as afraid of.not being believed..fear of the person hurting them or.another family member...but a.chid can hardly process such horrific deeds, especially from.an adult who was supposed to be trustworthy.
    I know women who.won't leave their children with their husbands, good men, who love.their children...that has more to do with the baggage the lady brought with her than the fact her husband is untrustworthy.
    A terrible thing, with far reaching effects, is sexual abuse...
    I pray the silence is broken and our homes and churches can help.people.find Jesus, the healer, and.provide.safe places for.healing.
    Good for you, for.telling your aunt. I am sorry it happened.
    Good for youand Vernon for providing the safety so Kaity can trust and.love. ~ Love, Kim

  • @qawzse789 - I definitely agree that it is definitely part of the baggage.  I think Aunt  would've understood if I had told on him but I probably was more afraid of his reaction if she confronted him.  Of course it would've been mine/our (my siblings) word against his.  I was just so glad he was no longer considered our uncle.    Yes, there is freedom with the love and trust I have in Vernon.  I am so glad for God's wisdom in leading us together.  

  • @musicaljean - Jean, those of us who can say that are very rich indeed.  I just love hearing about trustworthy men among us.    May God bless them for their faithfulness.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *