November 1, 2012

  • Our Gang

    Last Saturday, I attended the wedding of Carrisa Brunk and Trent Weaver at Hocking Hills Mennonite Church near Logan, Ohio.

    I was there by default because I was staying with my Mom for the week but I was delighted to go and see several of people whom I hadn't seen for a long time.

    One particular gal was Mim Yoder (nee Miriam Good) from somewhere in GA.  I hadn't seen her for about 23 years.  Her Dad was our bishop there in Carbon Hill, so we've known each other all of my life and most of hers....she being 11 months older than I. 

    Elaine Brunk lives in Logan.  She is my almost birthday twin;  (2 days younger; we shared the same hospital nursery when we were born).  Since Elaine's Dad, the late Norman Brunk (our deacon), the late Marion Good, my dad were the founding fathers of Carbon Hill Mennonite church.  We grew up together with my younger sister, Pam Chupp who is 13 months younger than Elaine and I.  (All of us were born in October, by the way.  )

    Then in 1973, I believe, Gaylord (late) Bear's family joined us as minister with Marion and Norman.  Shana was 5 and 1/2 years younger than I but she matured into a very sweet young lady and was soon a vital part of our gang.  Of course we all went to school in the basement of the church and went to youth functions together when we got older.  (Not to mention the slumber parties Mim had at her house.  )

    Anyway, Elaine, Mim and I decided last Sat. that we should have a picture taken together.  This drew some attention and someone asked if we were the 3 Stooges.  We laughed and told them that we were missing 2 of us.  It sure would've been nice if all 5 of us could've been there.  But....oh well.  Can't have it all.  This was better than nothing.

    l-r: Elaine, Mim and I

    So you can imagine my delight when Shana Horst called and told me that she wanted to come down the next day.  Pam was coming up from Va too that day.  Perhaps we COULD have a mini reunion after all! 

    Pam and Shana showed up at the church within 5 minutes of each other.  Vernon and I were waiting there for them so a quick call to Mim and Elaine and very shortly all 5 of us were there reminiscing and laughing about memories of long ago.  Vernon and Denis (Shana' hubby) discreetly stood down the hall from us probably wondering what was so hilarious.

    It didn't last as long as we wanted but Vernon and I needed to head for Wisconsin and Elaine needed to say Good-bye to her sisters who were getting ready to leave.

      It was sweet.  The first time we'd all been together for over 23 years!  Of course we had to document that. 

    l-r: Mim, Pam, Shana, Elaine, and I

    Long live the 5 friends.  (I haven't come up with a better title for us....but certainly not stooges.) 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *