Month: May 2013

  • May’s Quilt and the Quilting machine

    Well, May is almost over and I am almost done with this month’s quilt.  Instead of stopping with just the top, I have bit the bullet and have it in the quilting frame and am machine quilting it.  I don’t know the name of this pattern.  More stars.  I just saw a quilt picture on the internet and like it so decided to make on like it.  I used all blues and the background is a Precious Moments toile that I’ve had from my fabric store. Mine turned out very differently than the picture I found because I used all blues and the picture I saw had a contrasting color going through it.   Here the photo blog of that.

    Here its in the frame:

    The pantograph:

    I have decided that a long arm is the way to go, although short arms can do some stuff.  It is getting a little tight  now that I am at the end of the quilt.  I think I can do it but I wouldn’t be able to do any that’s bigger.  Ok now for the big question:

    Yesterday I found a partially finished quilt at a second hand store.  I had to rescue it.    got it home and laid it out:

    After looking at the rest of the blocks I’ve decided it is a Disappearing Nine Patch.

    Here’s some blocks put together in a 9 patch fashion and cut into 4 pieces.

    To make a Disappearing 9 patch you turn 2 pieces around.

    Should I finish putting it together as is or take it apart and put it together like the last photo?  I’d love to hear what you think.

    I will post a picture of May’s Quilt when I have it out of the frame.