March 28, 2013

  • March Quilt—Primrose by Pam Bono

    I saw a picture of this quilt on Pinterest when I was looking for another pattern called Hearts Delight by Carol C. Porter.  I just had to have it so I went on Amazon or Ebay and purchased the book that the pattern was in.  I found out that I had half the patterns in the book in another quilt book that my friend Joy Coates had given me a long time ago….(by the way, I’d never made any of them.  ).

    So, I go to my stash and pick and choose the right fabrics and blithely start in.  I wasn’t very far along until the realization hit me—this quilt has a ton of tiny pieces.  One step was to cut out 1 and 1/4″  squares.  Whew, I never go anything less than 2 inches and only do those to use up all the samples I’ve amassed from Good’s Store for their Tropical Breeze fabric!  (And yes, I do use Tropical Breeze for a lot of my quilt tops.  Gasp!!!!  Remember, I am trying to use up my scraps from having 6 girls and myself to make dresses for over the years, besides the remnants from my fabrics store.  Also, I love TB and how well it wears, etc. )

    These little teeny weeny squares are placed on the end of other small pieces and sewn on diagonally and then the corner is trimmed off and the other corner folded back to finish the block.  It makes details clearer but tons of work to say the least.  Well, it took a lot of time and determination but it paid off and here is the result:  Very labor intensive!!!

    There’s not much else been going on around here besides trying to get the library cleaned twice a week, pushing the schooling and trying to get the children interested in finishing before next September.     I do think that Lavina is on the home stretch.  Then there are days like yesterday that I felt like a chicken with her head cut off and that someone tried to sew it back on….backwards.  I was trying to finish up the income tax returns and all 3 youngsters seemed to be taking my name in vain:  “Mom!”.  “MOM!”, “MoM”….. all day long.  I told Vernon that I felt like I didn’t get anything done.  His calm response was: “Oh yes, you did…you were teaching the children.”   Aww…. he can be so understanding.    Well, today its better but then again, I haven’t tried putting any schoolwork in front of Kaity either.    Well, you’all take care until next time.

Comments (2)

  • Kim this quilt is so beautiful!!!  I’ve see this pattern before.   Your pinks are great!  Do you have your plans for quilting it yet?   I have two tops waiting to be machine quilted.  Mark leaves on Monday for a two week mission trip to India and Napal and my plans are to get a lot of sewing done while he is gone.

  • No, Polly, I don’t have any plans for the quilting yet.  That’s the part that hangs me up.  .  Have fun sewing.  I am anxious to see what you get done.  I sure it will be good.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *